Check a flight on Japan Airlines →
- Power banks per passenger
- 2
- Over 100 to 160 Wh
- Up to 160 Wh stated; approval not specified — interpretation; confirm with airline
- Recorded policy effective from
- 24 Apr 2026
- Checked baggage
- Power banks stay in cabin baggage
Carry, use and store
- Cabin baggage: protect terminals and follow crew storage instructions
- Charging a device from it: not allowed
- Charging it from seat power: not allowed
- Overhead bin: not stated
- Checked bag: not allowed
Read the airline’s wording
No more than 2 (two) power banks are allowed per passenger (each 160Wh or less).
Where interpretation is involved
- approval 100 160: JAL allows power banks of 160 Wh or less and does not mention approval for 100–160 Wh.
Conditions to check
- JAL: the limit may be reduced to 100 Wh from January 2027.
From 1 January 2027
IATA’s standard changes the over-100 Wh allowance. We have not verified this airline’s implementation for every future flight. Check the scope of the 2027 change.
Official sources
- jal.co.jp ↗ · checked 25 Oct 2026
Archived evidence and its limits
These dated records may be page captures or curated excerpts. A text fingerprint identifies the saved text; it does not prove that every rule interpretation is correct. This is not an independent audit.
- jal.co.jp ↗ · saved 2026-10-25 ·
b34ef7e29393
Ordinary power banks only. No model-level recall verification or medical-device clearance. Help correct this record.